# Pro Bono Law Saskatchewan

### **Awards and Recognitions for 2024**

#### **Volunteer of the Year Award**

Rhiannon Montgomery, Kondratoff Persick LLP

This award acknowledges a Pro Bono Law Saskatchewan (PBLS) volunteer lawyer who displays an exemplary dedication to the provision of pro bono services in their capacity as a PBLS volunteer.



Ms. Montgomery has volunteered with PBLS for almost 10 years, beginning shortly after she was called to the Bar in 2015. She provides free legal advice to low-income people in the Yorkton Free Legal Clinic. Clients tell us that Ms. Montgomery is down-to-earth, easy to talk to, and informative concerning their legal matter. She volunteers to provide free legal advice in high-demand areas including criminal, family and wills & estates.

Nominees for the award were Habibat Kasim, Logan Salm, Sonne Udemgba, and Shane Wagner.

### **Dedicated Firm Award**

Feist Flannigan Law

This award acknowledges a law firm in Saskatchewan that has displayed an exemplary dedication to the provision of pro bono services through PBLS.

This small yet mighty firm annually shows its dedication to increasing access to justice systems for low-income people. The firm is made up of two lawyers, both of whom volunteer in PBLS' North Battleford Free Legal Clinic providing free legal advice to low-income people. Robert Feist has done so for almost 10 years and Rebeka Flanagan has volunteered since shortly after being called to the Bar in 2021. They promote a culture of pro bono, encouraging their articling student Eden Friesen to participate in PBLS' current articling student volunteer opportunity for 2024/2025. A special mention to Richard Gibbons (past volunteer, retired) and Ben Fiest (current volunteer who is currently not at the firm).



Nominees for the award were Gerrand Rath Johnson LLP and the Law Society of Saskatchewan.



# Pro Bono Law Saskatchewan

## **Awards and Recognitions for 2024**

## Milestones for Free Legal Clinic Lawyers

Thank you to the 101 lawyers who volunteered at a Free Legal Clinic in 2024. A special thanks to the following lawyers who have continuously volunteered at a Free Legal Clinic.

#### 15 or more years

- Kara-Dawn Jordan K.C. Idowu Adetogun
- Nicholas Cann K.C.
- Ron Cherkewich
- Victoria Elliot-Erickson
- Lindsey Gates
- Ron Parchomchuk K.C. Neil McPhee

#### 10 years

- Connor Clyde
- Nicole Hamm
- Andrea Johnson
- Yinka Jarikre
- Katherine Melnychuk Sean Watson
- Shane Wagner

#### 5 years

- Adam Fritzler
- Rani Grewall
- Denim Martyn
- Damian McGrath David Flett
- Jared McRorie
- Antony Thera

#### 3 years

- Norman Bercovich K.C.
- Michelle Caron
- Rebeka Flanagan
- Allison Graham
- Sarah Gryba
- · Brady Knight
- · Logan Salm
- Kosta Stamatinos
- Meagan Ward

### **Panel Matches**

Thank you to the following lawyers who represented clients through a Panel Program in 2024.

- Andrea Charlie
- Ron Cherkewich
- Wendy Couet
- Kyla Eiffert
- Joseph Gills
- · Owen Griffiths

- Clifford Holm
- Ling Ma
- Neil McPhee
- Olesya Radionova
- Logan Salm
- Callie Schwartz
- Parveen Sehra
- Connor StandingReady (2 matches)
- George Thurlow K.C. (2 matches)
- Sonne Udemgba

# Victor P. Dietz K.C. Pro Bono Service Award

Kyla Eiffert, Kondratoff Perisck LLP

This award is jointly presented by the Law Society of Saskatchewan and PBLS. It recognizes someone who engages in delivering, establishing, coordinating, and/or advocating, for pro bono legal services in Saskatchewan. The award is named after Mr. Dietz K.C. who was the founding Director and first President of PBLS.

Ms. Eiffert has volunteered with PBLS for over 10 years beginning in 2013. She volunteers in the Yorkton Free Legal Clinic providing free legal advice to low-income people. She also volunteers in the PBLS Panel Program whereby she provided full representation to a client on a pro bono basis in 2024. Kyla fosters a culture of pro bono by actively encouraging and mentoring junior lawyers in the Yorkton area to volunteer with PBLS. PBLS has 10 active volunteers in Yorkon which makes up 28% of the Yorkton Bar.



Nominees for the award were Gillian Gough and David Flett.

